Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Infinite Frustration

Erich with an H

OMG! I am so frustrated with Pro/E. I'm new to this software from SolidWorks and just can't seem to make anything happen the way I want! I've spent the last day and a half editing a model and drawing sheet, something simple. I could have done this in 10 minutes tops in SW!

Anybody have some advice as to where I can get some quick knowledge. I'm almost ready to look for new employment I'm so frustrated with Pro/E. To bad it seems like nobody in WA uses SW.

Thanks for any and all suggestions.

~E

Bud,

Believe me. it won't end!!! I have been using Pro/E and SolidWorks for years and I can't believe how utterly CONVOLUTED (think i spelled that right) Pro/E can make a simple task. But take some good advice. Spending time in Ranting and Raving talking about the difference between SW and Pro/E will consume you; it's like religion and politics. If i can help you in anyway way let me know; i'm pretty knowledgeable in both programs. Shoot me private message and i will give you my email address.
Edited by: jelston

This is going to turn into a SW vs Pro|E rant ...

One thing to keep in mind is that generally Pro|E will ask you to define things that SW assumes. Sketcher is a good example. In SW you can sketch a rectangle with no dims and move on. Pro|E's going to want you to tell it where to dimension it from and how high and wide it is. It can and will make the assumptions, once you tell it the dim references. SW doesn't even need that.

SW is generallymore intuitive and seems better thought out from an interface stand point.

Give it time, you'll become more productive. And come back and ask us more questions on specific areas that annoy you, there may be shortcuts that you're not aware.