Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Won’t Open STEP File

Noa_n_f

Hi I'm new to Pro/E and I cant solve what seems like a simple program. I downloaded a bunch of parts online in the form of step files and would like to make an assembly using them. When I go "file open" I click "show all files" and try to open the STEP file, nothing happens.Do I have to somehow import it into an assembly?

Thanks in advance

No, you do not have to import the files; File > Open should do it.

Check your file extensions: they should be *.stp
Also check the filename: ProE doesn't like big filenames, spaces or special characters. I've had situations similar to yours and it turns out it was the filename that was too long.

Hi, thanks for the fast reply. However, the problem continues. Pro/e dosent recognize it at all when I change the suffix to *.stp it only recognizes *.step and I changed the the name to make it shorter for example "signal". But Pro/E refuses to do anything when I try to open it. This seems quite strange.

Could you upload one of the files so I can see if I can open it?

I'm using WF4 and WF5.

EDIT:
Try this workaround:
1. create new part file
2. click Insert > Shared Data > Data from file (the menus may not be exactly like this)
3. browse to one of the files
Edited by: jvidal

Hi,

I tried openening the files when runnning a standalone WF4 without a config.pro and can simply open all 4 step files from the Open File menu...

So it works here. Try opening a standalone ProE without config settings so everything is at it's default settings and no PDM can interfere. Should work, because the data isn't corrupt.

Good luck!

Hi Noa_n_f,

I was also able to open all the files on WF5 (with my usual config.pro file) so the data is not corrupted.

I re-saved your models as STEP on WF5.