Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Spur Gear modelling..?

Kenzy

Hello!
I'm a student of Mechanical Engineering, and I'm studying at one Finnish polytechinc. I'm trying to practice my modelling skills with Pro/E WF3. I have one hydraulic pump which I'm trying to model, and I've made quite far, but the gears are giving me a really nice headache. I just can't manage to get even started with the gears, I've found many nice guides to model gears, but they're all for old Pro/Es and I can't find that kind of features etc. from the WF3. Could somebody teach me how to make a simple Spur Gear? I would really appreciate your help with this issue, because it would help me a lot in the future.

I've found this kind of articles, and I would really like to model those gears in mm's, not in inches..:
http://www.pic-design.com/tech/gear_form/gear_form1.htm
http://www.geartechnology.com/mag/gt-model.htm

P.S. My teacher doesn't know any way to model a gear either... so it's a little hard to get started. Please notice that I'm in GMT+3-area. Thank you.

EDIT: This tutorial teaches quite nicely how to model a simple gear. However, I don't have a clue how to make the datum for mirroring the other side of the tooth. Could somebody give me a little advice for that? That would solve the problem.

Edited by: Kenzy

I,m try to create a tutorial for this, now can create this graphical or parametrically

you can create a "Relation"

with Db=base circle, to create the involute use this equation,

r=Db/2
ang = t * 90
s = (PI * r * t ) / 2
xc = r * cos(ang)
yc = r * sin(ang)
x = xc + ( s * sin(ang))
y = yc

Hi Kenzy

u can find gear files on files section. take a look on these files and go ahead.

hi kenzy

i am pretty much in ur situation, well was.

i can help u with ur problem