Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Solidworks Surfacing....

design-engine

Just curious how many people on the forum are using Solidworks for surfacing? I've been using Soldworks for over 10 years and am really pushing the surfacing tools over the past three.

Maybe you guys can post some images of work you have done here!

solidworksfourweekcomprehensive7.jpg

designengineshootout_solidworks.jpg

Edited by: design-engine

Hi Bart,

What is your opinion on surfacing in SW vs ProE? From what
I have heard, ProE wins out in Surfacing.

I think the surfacing in solidworks has come a long ways. I started taking the surfacing tools in SolidWorks seriously in 2007 for one major reason, the boundary surface. In the 2008 or 2009 release we got options for building selections sets for the boundary surface. Before that you had to break up the sketch that was later projected onto a surface because the boundary surface would not let you be specific what parts of the surface edge to grab. That is all resolved now.

About the Boundary Surface. I like how it will let me choose 2 curves in one direction and one in the other much like the rail tool. I wish Pro/E could do that.

The 2011 version has some things missing that I would prefer but it's does 90 percent of everything one would require. Workflow oriented I prefer Pro/E still but that is to be expected since I have so much experience in Pro/E surfacing.I have made lists before of things that are missing in Solidworks and someone there has been making changes to the software ;)