Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Simple Question - Diameter Dimension

Goat

I am very new to Pro/E and was wondering how to dimension a diameter manually; it keeps giving me a radius and I can get the diameter by 'show dimensions' but then I have to clean up the whole drawing and all I want is one dimension. Any help is appreciated.<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

Thanks

Goat,

if you are in a drawing left mouse button click the circle or curve twice to get a diameter measurement.

If in a revolved sketch feature, you can make a center line for the revolve. Click the vertex-->center line--> vertex again-->confirm. You will then get a dimension showing a diameter that the revolve will produce.

If you make the dimension a diameter in the sketch, it will show as a diameter in the drawing, if you choose to show the dimensions.

cheers,

M

Edited by: magneplanar

Thanks for the reply but it's not working.

I am in a drawing and click the "create a standard dimension with new references" button and left click twice on the hole and then middle mouse button to place the dimension and it gives me nothing (specified dimension could not be created). The holes were created using the hole feature.

Is there any reason why this method would not work?

Goat,

Don't double click on the hole, click on the circle itself and check that the selection tool is set to 'On Entity'

Kev

Goat,

It appears you figured out what to do, congrats...

With the setting of "on entity", as Prohammy mentioned, anything that has a radius you can just click twice on the line that forms the edge of the opening or curve, and then middle mouse button to accept, as you now know. A diameter dimension should be made.