Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro/E - Inventor: Pros and Cons

pro_eek

I've been using Inventor 2011 for a few months now on a
project. Observations thus far:

Inventor Pros:

1) Better user interface design and consistency as far as icons and neatness
goes.

2) MUCH better detailed help files, most showing an animated example.

3) Beter interface and options to set up different view representations,
assembly cross sections, save assembly snapshots with parts hidden or
suppressed. Just much easier and more powerful.

4)Drawing mode is better, looks neater on screen while creating it.

5) Frame generator module is included in base package. You can easily drop in
std structural elements from a library, onto a skeleton model or hybrid part
with edges.

Then quickly mitre or trim the joins.

6) Std Part libraries are better and easier to use

Inventor Cons:

1) Sketcher not as good as Pro/E, much prefer Pro/E handling of contraints,
that you can animate your sketch through modify to see behaviour etc. Inventor
sketcher is "easier" in some ways but you dont always know later what
is contrained to what.

2) Modeling: not as powerful as Pro/E, I only prefer the frame generator as
mentioned to any of Pro/E's tools

3) Sheetmetal not as good as Pro/E

4) Assembly constraints: I prefer Pro/E's style. In Inventor its harder to know
afterwards what you assembled to what

5) Adaptivity: Inventor does not always handle its referencing (adaptivity)
well. This makes top down design very hard, where I found part geometry
referencing other part geomettry not updating after changes. You can actually
turn adaptivity off for each part!

6) Basic surfacing not as good as Pro/E

There are more things to mention, but here is the bottom line: