Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Poor prototype my fault?

prismshian

I've just CNC prototyped some putters out of steel from China, and the engravings are absolutely horrible, its all over the place and the alignments dont even exist. Its quitebad engineering as far asalignment is concerned.

I only submitted an IGES file as they requested. Is it my fault that I didn't give them drawings with dimensions telling them the exact position of the engravings?

I'm very new to Solidworks and engineering, thanks so much for your help!

Was the engraved text present in the native SolidWorks part files, and was it clearly shown in the IGES export file as an engraved text? If so, I would suggest the fault was with your vendor in China. However, I would have probably sent an eDrawing or PDF with a note indicating the font and point size of the engraved text.

I do not know about the U.K., but I recently read in BusinessWeek that the cost of manufacuring in the United States is only about 5% more than China due to the current recession. Have you considered finding someone closer to home where you can manage the project more effectively?

Chris

SolidWorks Premium 2007 & 2009
Pro/Engineer Wildfire 2.0 & 3.0

Edited by: c_thompson_68

Chris, the cost of manufacturing may be close to the Chinese equivalent in certain sectors but you can't make a broad statement like this.

Mark, we deal a lot with Chinese and other far east nations and I ALWAYS ask for a prototype up front. It saves a lot of money in the long run. There is always a lost-in-translation effect and it no fault on either side. We have some clients that we have been working with for over 15 years and we still experience issues every so often.