Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Knowledge/Skill Levels on the Job

ddrichards

I'm not really ranting or raving, just seeking opinions and advice.<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

I went into a company near Madison WI as a contractor, I did see a few signs of some skilled work having been done by someone there, or possibly there at one time. That being said, the majority of the work I saw was really rather poor, the Pro-E users I had direct contact with were seriously unskilled and really didn't seem to have any interest in learning or improving their skills, probably because they had guaranteed jobs there and didn't have to. They appeared to be "in" more due to having been there as drafters when they adopted Pro-E, or because of friendships or relations.

How do you deal with trying to do your job properly, when they try to cover up their lack of abilitywith unqualified and false criticism of your work? Also, any thoughts or suggestions onhow to handle the situation when their unskilled work affects your ability to do your job properly?

Some of the practices there made it unnecessarily difficult to simply setup a new design/assembly of the products we were designing. For example, someone there, or possibly, that had been there, seemed to believe that the base datums had to be utilized as