Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

How can I make the analysis finish faster

alkhal4

Hello

Is there a way of performing structural analysis faster on ProE,

I have an assembly model of a heat exchanger that contains 168 tubes within a cylindrical pressure vessel, I have been trying to do some structural analyais to study the stresses.

I am new to ProE, when I run my analyais I use Single pass method, the problem here is that whenever I run the analysis the computer seem to work for hours and hours, I have the analysis running now for 10 hours, is this Normal?

Is there anyway of making this go faster?

If the computer crash does ProE pickup where it left off if I re-run the analysis?

smiley24.gif

Could anybody give me an advise!

I am using a computer with windows platform, 1 GB Ram. I need to really speed this up a little, it's really frustrating
smiley7.gif
especially when I get a fatal error message after 4 or 5 hours of run.

Thanks for reading

Hi,

Can you start to run the analysis, then look at the summary and give some more information from there. It sounds like the analysis is too large for Mechanica to handle, so if we can at least check that the analysis isn't trying to figure out thousands of elements, etc

Post up summary and I'll try to give more advice.

Hello

I had to stop the analysis this morning after giving up,

I had a look at the summary file and it seems that Mechanica is trying to figure out many elements, even when I try to mesh the model it takes too long and doesn't complete, I have attached the analysis file that I stopped, I would appreciate any advice,

Thanks

2007-07-23_053000_model.zip