Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Force Analysis Using Pro-Mechanism

Gajanan.lade

I am new to use pro-mechanisam, i have certain condition like first type of lever where i need to knowEffort required to liftknown mass at other end of hinge. i knowhow to calculate it theroticaly but i would like to simulate it in pro-mechanism.

So anybody can help meabout pro-mechanism process to calculate lifting Effort !

Force as such cannot be done in Mechanism Analysis. You
would need "Dynamic Analysis". However if simulation is
your criteria, for a first type of lever, you may graph
peripheral velocity. with a servomotor specified at the
fulcrum. Work done being same, the velocity graph and
arrows should do the trick.

Try it out.

Caution: Angular velocity being equal, Peripheral
Velocity at the point of application of Effort would be
more on the effort side !!! which should not be
misinterpreted.
Edited by: SRINIVASANIYER1

Thanks for your comment but my main intetion is to know effort, So if it not possible by pro-mechanism then is it possible to run dynamic analysis in pro-mechanic to know effort ?

Gajanan.lade said:
Thanks for your comment but my main intetion is to know effort, So if it not possible by pro-mechanism then is it possible to run dynamic analysis in pro-mechanic to know effort ?

You said that you know how to calculate it, so there is your answer.

Gajanan.lade, First, it is important to note that Pro/ENGINEER is offered with 2 types Pro/Mechanismlicense extensions. MDX and MDO. MDX is mechanism design extension licenseand deals mainly with just the motion itself (or kinematics) usually this is included as part of the basic/foundation license and allows you to establish connections between parts and to examine their motions only.