Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Creating Bone model in ProE

jcm3

I've used ProE before, but it was to build and assemble simple parts. I have to model the humerus bone (arm bone) as shown below:

shoulder_01.gif

[url]http://www.shouldersolutions.com/shoulder_images/shoulder_01 .gif[/url]

I've tried doing a cross sectional sketch of it, but when i extrude, it looks like a cube and if i round, it looks completely off. maybe i need to use the sweep tool? but i've never used that before. i dont need the bone to look perfect, but at least decent enough.

I've worked a lot with bone models. Having modelled the Tibia, fibula and the Femur. Your talking about getting into somesurfacing for these parts. You could try and model it through normal solid modelling however the results that you get probably wont give you models that would be of any use to you.

Depends what you are using them for, if its animation anf inormational then soilds would be fine, if its something else link motion studies or templating the cutting instruments against these models then you would need a certain level of deatil there.

Or if you can get hold of some MRI scan data you can use that to give you either solid "bumb" models or use the curves to help you generate some surfaces.

Its not the easiet task in the world, but you will certainily get exposure to a good deal of proe functions!!!

Have fun.

i did a sketch, did a revolve and did various cuts to it.. the good thing is that it sort of resembles a bone now.. haha

i wont go into the details of what im doing cuz its a little bit complicated but im just doing things on the computer to fill in time basically.