Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Architectural Modeling

samfisher

Hello

I saw a thread on MCAD, posted around 2002, in which someone has modeled complete hotels in Pro/E. I want to learn how to model a house in Pro/E. Can someone help?

Dear Samfisher
you can build whatever models you wish using Pro/E or Creo, depends on your ability to use commands and render techniques. In my view, I would like to say that rendering techniques and abilities are very important for such models and architecture. For instance, I modeled an ASRS (Automated Storage and Automated Retrieval) system using very simple commands and tools.
View attachment 5728
Hope that helps

Thank you Faisalmk.

I'm basically a student of mechanical engineering and I have no background in architecture. I'm interested in designing my home. Please let me know a starting point for this process.

I'm an intermediate user of Pro/E.

Dear samfisher
In order to model your house, you need first to break this system into smaller components, such as windows, doors, walls, etc. modeling these components will not be difficult specially if you have good imagination. After that the assembly phase starts, the assembly will not be easy for beginner but of course you can do it.

Best Regards,
Faisal

Now I'm starting to get the picture. It is basically nothing else but assembly modeling in Pro/E. I was too naive to think of some special features in Pro/E reserved for architectural modeling.

This is quite an extensive job, the more detail I go for the more time it demands.

I modeled a stick built garage. Started with the basic lumber sizes, built walls, ceilings, roofs, etc. The floor was easy because it was a poured slab, only one part. In the end I knew exactly how much lumber, concrete, etc. to buy. I didn't include the nails