Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Universal config.pro for multiple users

Goin' Mental

Hi folks - newbie here just after some help with config.pro variable file paths if poss.
What I'd like to do is have a standard config.pro that I can give to more than one user that uses some kind of variable in some of the file paths for example for each person's (potentially unique) config.win that will live in their own account area on C:\..........
I thought I'd be able to make use of the %user% thing in the file paths in config.pro but no joy.
Any help gratefully rec'd
Cheers.

What version of Proe / Creo? It's important because Creo
1.0 handles some of this differently than WF5 / Creo
Elements 5.0 and older. For example, Creo 1.0 no longer
has a config.win file, instead it uses a customizations
file and it's loaded differently than the config.win.

That said, here's how it works with WF5 and older.
Config.pro and config.win files are loaded from several
places, in this order:

1. The 'text' folder in the Pro/E installation.
  2. The user's 'Home' directory, as defined by Windows
    environment variable.
  3. The start up directory, usually defined by the 'start
    in' field for the icon used to launch Proe.

Additionally, both config.pro and config.win files will
load cumulatively. That means later files override
earlier in the area where they overlap. So, if you set
an option in the config.pro file in the text folder and
then again in a config.pro file in the user's home
directory, the value used in the later vile 'wins'.

With config.win files, however, that can produce
unexpected results. I've found that separating the areas
that each file modifies (one for toolbars, the other for
menus for example) works well.

Now, what we do is store company config.pro & config.win