Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Third angle projection as default

oliwally

Hi, I'm new to ProEngineer 3 but have been using ProDesktop for years. Just wondering how to convince ProE 3 to spit out a third-angle projection drawing by default, rather than a first angle one. Or, if that's not possible, how do I change it without having to delete some views and then creating others in order to make a 3rd angle projection. Is there a shortcut at all?

Thanks

In your drawing.dtl file (in a drawing RMB, properties, drawing options) find projection_type and change it to firt angle

Kev

Thanks for helping out prohammy.

I've tried your suggestion but have had some issues with it:

Firstly, I don't have a drawing.dtl file on my system, only dwgform.dtl, which has the option you mentioned. There are also other .dtl files. But changing the setting to third angle has not effect. I'm still getting a first angle projection - top and side views at the top and the top view on the bottom. No change.

Changing this option through properties-drawing options has the same effect, namely nil. Furthermore, every time I create a new drawing, the setting re-sets itself to first angle.

Is is possible to have the default spit out third-angle: front and side view at bottom and top view above the front view?

Please continue to help out.

Edited by: oliwally

Oli,

What version of ProE are you using?

Kev

EDIT:

Just because you change the drawing option from first to third (or vice versa) will not automatically change the orientation of the views that are already on a drawing. You will have to redo the projection views.

Kev
Edited by: prohammy