Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Telephone project

plastics-studen

Hi guys

I am up to create telephone components, based on
delivered PCB. This is non-commercial project which I must finish due
to my studies. The final grade depends on complexity of developed
parts, so it is not mystery I want to push it hard.

I am not that experienced in plastics as I wish I would, so I thought it is wise to ask for tips first.

So, just to start it I am curious how ussualy such project is managed? what is first:

*design - sketches, models?

or

*PCB and mechanical layout?

p.s

I am using Pro/E, thus I decided to put these questions here. Yea they`re not Pro/E related yet, but I suppose there will be time for it either

Development is almost always a team effort. Your instructor should hook your engineering group up with ID department like Purdue does. Usually the industrial designers are given a PCB layout from an existing product (similar) and told PCB designers can move stuff around if necessary on the board if they like.

Concept design is usually without much thought to draft and what have you... Concept sketching ... it is best to leave the concept sketching up to experienced designers.... then let the engineers problem solve how to separate the parts into moldable components. That's what I try to teach however there are some who might argue.
Edited by: design-engine

usualy I do the mech layout - investigation of snaps, drafts, cuts for connectors, tol chain, offstes etc - before ID is hired

but our products are not that desgin focused

Edited by: muadib3d