Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Solidworks Assembly issue!!

Davi

Hey guys, i'm relatively new to the Solidworks world and am reading a lot about it. Anyway, I'm doing an Assembly and i inserted two parts, now i want to change the length of only one part but when i change one, the other one changes as well.

I only want the dimensions of one of them to change, how can i do this?

Thanks,

David!

Your problem sound strange for me.
Are the parts sketches related in any way ?
I.E. You define a part using the sketch from another one ?

And WELCOME TO THE FORUM !

Edited by: Mihail

Thanks for the reply Mihail!

The part sketches are related, the two parts are the same thing, allow me to explain:

I inserted two of the same part in an assembly, so now i have two identical parts. but now i want to change only one of them. when i change one, the other one changes as well :(

How can i change the dimensions of one part without affecting the other one?

Sorry Davi, but the answer is NO. No, you can not do the job. Why ? Because you have only one part (not 2 as you see in assembly). I'll try to explain that as well as I can with my (poor) english:
You are the designer engineer and make a draw for a part (i.e. a door). then you send your drawing to the factory. They give you a lot of doors using the same draw. of course, the doors are identical. If you make a new drawing and send it to the factory, the workers make new doors but... again identical.
The solution is to make TWO drawings (for 2 different doors).

In SW two different doors means TWO different parts or TWO different configurations for the same part.
I recommend you (for the beginning) to use 2 parts.

So:
1)
Open your part
SAVE AS this part with a different name.
Make an assembly using this parts.