Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Simulating force on elastomers

howiep

Hi guys,

I'm designing a product that contains a silicone collapsing part moulded onto plastic suppourts, sort of like this collander, but it is asymmetrical (more of a dustpan shape)

m_collapsible_colander3.jpg

[url]http://www.bettywilde.com/product.php?prid=215193&pn=Col lapsible-Colander[/url]

I am an intermediate-advanced Pro/E user, but haven't had much experience with Mechanica, or the other analysis tools. Would these tools give me the ability to find out things such as:
- Will thecollapsing partstay inside out, or pop back open on its own?
- How thick the material should be to make it collapse easily, and whether it will collapse evenly.

I suppose Iwould love it ifsomeone with experience could speculate about whether this sort ofcapability is possible, and if it would take tens of hours to learn and setup.

I have modelled some other elastomer products and eventually got them right by guesswork and prototyping, but this design ismore tricky, andlarger (therefore more expensive to prototype).

Thanks heaps,

Phil

Cant help greatly - it will be difficult to model - large
displacement, rubber, bificating structure (popping in and
out) maybe there's a genius out there that can do that ....

digressing ... is this silicone bakeware stuff safe - we
used to make silicone rubber seals and they gave off toxic
white gas when they were temperature cured. We also have
used them on burners and they quote 250degC but if you run
them at this they go hard and break down gradually and coat
the burner internals with a white powder - not sure Id want
that in my food

Hi Moriarty,