Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro/E compared to Solidworks or CATIA

SW

I'm a Pro/E user and am interested in where it lies in the CAD field.
As I understand it, CATIA is much more powerful and expensive than Solidworks,
but I saw an advert for CATIA and a Sun workstation for

IMHO, pro-e is a dinosaur that should be retired.<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />
I compare it to a vintage car that keeps getting restored.
The more restoration it receives, the more delicate it gets.

I think PTC would be better off creating a new modeller from the ground up.
Catia (V5), in comparison is very much more user friendly with more stability in it

I agree with Scooter. I have almost completely left ProE, but that's mostly because the job I got. I have a private Solid Edge license and a year ago the daytime job was ProE, so it was mixed. Now it's SE night and day.

Actually Solid Edge is the result of what Scooter suggests : rebuilding from the ground. SE was made by Intergraph which was running EMS at the time in an own Unix-like environment. They saw that Windows workstations were the upcoming breed and designed a new CAD, based on the CAD-knowledge they had and the basic functions that were present in Windows. Everything, even the file structure, was tied to Windows funtionality. Doing a tiny bit of programming in Delphi I know enough of "object model", "streams", "OOPS", ... to recognize it inside Solid Edge and understand the importance of a sound foundation.