Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Newbie Question

kerklein2

I am just getting started using Pro/E and I'm trying to use a file downloaded from 3Dcontentcentral.com. I first tried using a Pro/E model from them but when I tried to import it to my workspace, nothing would happen. I am using Wildfire 2 and I just assumed it was a new version file and would not work. I went back and downloaded an IGES file and imported that to my workspace. I then created a new part and tried Insert->Shared Data->From file and selected the iges file. When I do this I get a dialog box that says "file selection failed, file type may be wrong".

What am I doing wrong?

So I signed up just so I could answer this question.

Pro Enigneer is one of the few Cad systems that must not allow file names with spaces. I believe it was originally created for Unix systems which does not allow spaces in comands. I know very little about Unix tho. Actually less than a little.

The file names have spaces in them. Rename the files so there are no spaces and they should work just fine. The Pro Engineer download I downloaded was a ProE rev 20 file. But was saved as a neutral file...

I just checked and the file name does not have any spaces. At first I was like...ah ha, because I just moved from I-DEAS and spaces are not allowed there either. Unfortunately my file does not have spaces in it.

Try importing your file into an assembly file instead of a part file.

Also I would try a couple differnet part file downloads.

Shaun,

Careful with terminologies you use. "Workspace" is a Pro Intralink term, are you using Pro Intralink?

For this kind of file you don't want to import (Insert->Shared Data->From file).

You should just open the iges file. (File Open > set file type to iges).

Charles