Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

New admin with a few questions

S2Roush

Here is my delima,I have been tossed into the role of taking care of and evaluating our CAD system and all its related software. My background is a Sysadmin mainly Windows and Cisco networks. What I need to figure out is this...We are running Catia v5r13, Smarteam, and See Electric. (I know this a mechnical site we do that also) Our previous admin has pretty much snowballed everyone here into think the system was stable and workingand has spent A LOT of money doing it. I have the ability to say dump the system and start over with something new or figure a way to make our system work. Is there someone here that can tell me or point me to a good place to get info on Pro-eng and any PDM software that works well with it and would not take me 6 months to get up and running properly. I have been searching the site and reading post to try and figure out if Pro-eng is the way to go or hash out our Catia issues. If you have any candid opions or hard facts one way or the other I would be glad to hear them. A few things to let you know in my case I have a LARGE budget for software, training, and consulting if I need it. I need to have a stable system that runs on Windows 2003, and XP (64 bit is going to come soon so I need to plan for that). Last thing is this, should I bother keeping the catia setup since it not stable and has not ever really worked 0r go with Pro-eng? I really need something that is Stable. Thanks for your input in advance and sorry for the long post.My bosses are all over me to figure something out one way or another.

What industry are you in and what do most of your competitors use?

What do you customers and/or suppliers use?

How large is your engineering organization?