Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Insert Object With Transparent Background

hdwdlnd

I am new to Wildfire 4 but I have been using Wildfire 2 for quite some time. At work we create assembly drawings and we insert actual pictures of the assemblies, overlaying them with drawing views of the assembly. We do this by taking a snapshot of the model while it is open and in the same orientation as the assembly views in the drawing. We use Insert->Object->Microsoft Word Document then we paste the clipboard image of the model. There is an option in the MS Word program called "Set Transparent Color"where we can then choose the white background. When we close the Word Document window the image is shown on the drawing as a background image. In other words, you can see the actual assembly view of the drawing over the top of the clipboard image. This allows us to resize the clipboard image, lining it up with the assembly view. This technique works with Wildfire 2 along with Office 2003, 2007, and 2010 in Windows XP.

In Wildfire 4 we experience a problem with this technique. Performing the same operations outlined above on a Windows XP computer (It does not matter if we use Office 2003, 2007, or 2010, we get the same result) the clipboard image shows up on the drawing but it's on top of the geometry/assembly view. Also, the background appears black once inserted in the drawing. When we print the drawings to pdf, it looks correct with the clipboard image background (black/white) not showing up and the clipboard image is behind the assembly view. It appears to be a setting or glitch with the way the drawing file is handled in Pro/E.

I realize this is a long shot, but I'm hoping someone sees this because it's really causing some headaches at work. Thanks.