Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

help needed in orthographic projections

aerdna

Hello all,

I am not an engineer, in fact,I'm studying for dentistry. For me to get into dental school, I must do well on DAT (Dental Admission Test), and part of that test includes a section on orthographic projections.

The questions will be set-up as follows: Of the three views (Top, Front, End), only two will be given. And then we must choose the correct third view. It is all muliple choice.

I am familiar with all of the rules, with dotted lines, and solid lines, etc, but for some reason, I am not very good at these kinds of problems.

Would you be able to provide me with some tips and tricks on how to do well.

I was wondering if I could have some kind of step by step procedure on how to tackle these problems.

I know that if there is any place that I can get help, it is an engineer forum, which brings me here as my last hope. A lot of my Pre-Dentistry friends are also having a tough time.

Thank You,

Andrea

The first thing you have to know is are you using first angle (most europeans but not Brits) or third angle projection (USA)? If it is first angle projection, just take the part and roll it 90 degrees in the direction of the new view. If it third angle roll the part 270 degrees in the direction of the new view or -90 degrees if that seems easier to picture mentally. It helps to hold an actual part in your hand until you get used to it.

thank you dr_gallup for your post,

i'm not very advanced in orthographic projections, but i would guess we are using third anlge projection. we are given four quadrants, on the top left is the 'top view', on the bottom left is the 'front view', and on the bottom right is the 'end view'.