Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

GibbsCam vs MasterCam

Tesla77

Has anybody worked in a place where they havetried GibbsCam and Mastercam for programming CNC machines. I would like to know which is better? All of the technical colleges in my area teach Mastercam. But it was mentioned to the company that GibbsCam is the way to go especially in mold making/tool room work.

I used to work in a shop where they used Gibbs and I was not Impressed with it at all but that was prior to Gibbs be bought by Cimatron. Back then It seemed to me that it was production machining oriented and not mold making friendly. I would think that mastercam would be more mold making friendly right after Pro Manufacturing.

Can anyone say what the price difference is between Pro/Manufacturing vs Mastercam? We have seats of standard ProEngineer software already within the company. But we are only a Tool Room and do not do full blown mold designs and mold builds only new component builds and repair work. It's hard to justify a cost when it comes to software.

IF your designs are done in Pro Engineer then the use of Pro Manufacturing would be to your benefit because of the parametric nature of the software. The cost of mastercam and Pro engineer can vary depending on the options you want or need to do the job. Usually some where between $5K to $8K for both mastercam and Pro Manufacturing(rough Guess probably a little high). Your engineering people should be able to get a Quote for you from your Reseller.

The big problem with Pro Manufacturing is the learning curve. So along with the software I would recommendpurchasing atraining class also to get started. Usually around $1500 for an insructor led class.