Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

DRAWING TEMPLATE

ASTALAVISTA

HELLO EVERYONE,
i AM A NOVICE AND STUCK ON A VERY BASIC PROBLEM.
I CREATED A NEW DRAWING FORMAT FOR A NEW COMPANY THAT I JUST JOINED.I WAS WONDERING IF THERE IS ANY WAY THAT I CAN ASSIGN PARAMETERS TO TABLE CELLS SO THAT WHENEVER I OPEN A NEW PART ALL THE NECESSARY INFORMATION SUCH AS
PART NAME...MATL...FINISH...PART NUMBER...SCALE...SHEET NO.
WILL BE AUTOMATICALLY FILLED IN.
I AM NOT TALKING ABOUT BOM.I HAVE FIGURED THAT OUT ALREADY.THANKS TO THIS FORUM ONLY.
(THIS IS NOT PART OF MY RESPONSIBILITIES BUT I JUST WANT TO LEARN THIS BASIC THING.)

You can put any model or drawing parameter preceded the "&" character as text in a table and Pro/E will fill it in when start the drawing. For example, &scale will fill in as the default drawing view scale. &model will fill in the model files name.

Hi there,
thanks for your reply.It helped but not fully I must be doing something wrong.
Things that are taken care of with your suggestion are--finish,part_number,material
Missing is---part-name,date,scale.
As soon as open any drawing it prompts "ENTER TEXT FOR THE PARAMETER "SCALE" and then "DATE" and so on.

HI guys thanks for all the responses.
I thought it was pretty much end of this thread but no its getting worse.
I filled in all the 'fixed' information and all the parameters.Our pattern is we have BOM and the assembly isometric with balloons on the first sheet and then 8-9 components on subsequent sheets one by one.We usually get like 14-15 sheets per drawing.
So my template is good and 100% effective if I am using it for one part only.When I try to use it for assembly (first page)it messes up completely.And 2-3 sheets and so on I am having to enter the information such matl,scale manually.