Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Brake Rotor Analysis

sonicsvt02

Hello,

I am currently a senior ME student and <st1:place><st1:placeName>Bradley</st1:placeName>
<st1:placeName>University</st1:placeName></st1:place> on the Formula SAE Team,
using Wildfire 2.0 Student Edition. I am trying to do a thermal analysis
on a brake rotor, but I am having some issues with mechanica. I know a Q
value(BTU) the part will see from the brake pad, but when i constrain the part with
a temperature, the entire part becomes that temperature. Long story
short, I don

Contact your CAD Administrator who is in incharge of ptc software maintenance/upgradation. Ask him to download or order ptc official training material on Structural/Thermal Analysis. We have this and this has all what you need.

Israr

Is there a way to do this without ordering the official
training material? I have a limited time to do this analysis and our
system admin takes forever to do anything. I have spent a great deal of
time on this part. I am ready to start using abaqus, hoping that it will
be easier to do the analysis.

sonics,

I have the Wildfire 2.0 Structural and Thermal Simulation
Help Topic Collection in PDF format thatI could email to
you (even zipped up, it's too big a file to attach here).

It's over 1350 pages long and looks quite thorough.

Jay,