Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

BOM balloons with total quantities

Rbrgr83

I'm still fairly new with drawings in Pro-E.

I'd like to know if it's possible to get my BOM balloons to display a total quantity rather than the quantity which the balloon is pointing to. Example:

View attachment 3527

Stange as it may seem, I'd like to get the 2 balloons on the right to display '2' for the quantity like the baloon on the left. This is just my company's standard. If I just have to manually override the entry for each specific balloon, then so be it. But I would like the entry to reflect the toatly quantity of that item in the model (i.e. so it will say 3 if I add another somewhere else.)

Any help would be much appreciated.
Edited by: Rbrgr83

That is very strange requirement.

I don't think ProE can do that.
Why don't you just look at the BOM for total quantities?

Charles

hmm, all my balloons display the total quantity. For examle if I have4 screws there is a single balloon displaying 4 (qty).There are some situations when they don't but very rarely. When that happens there is a merge command in the balloon menu that I use to merge the two balloons.

vlad1979 said:
hmm, all my balloons display the total quantity. For examle if I have4 screws there is a single balloon displaying 4 (qty).

So what about when you have multiple balloons? For example, if you call out each of your 4 hypothetical bolts from above in 4 separate balloons, do they all display 1/4? Or do they all show 1/1 like the picture above? The former is what I am trying to achieve, so even if you don't know how to do it, at least I know it can be done.

Rbrgr83,