Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

automate assembly component movement

michaelpaul

I have a simple assembly of a door and an enclosure housing. I want to be able to automate the travel for the door so that I can see the interaction of the two parts through the range of motion that the door will swing through. currently, I use brute force and ignorance and simply change the assembly angle through several values and look at the sections I'm interested in at each step. But, this is tedious and while I'm working on features that require multiple iterations this process also gets rather tedious since I need to check the door at at least 5 positions through it's travel.

I'm just beginning to research what my options are but figured I'd throw the question out here too. I'm sure I'll have to use mechanism but I've never used it before so I'm not sure what I need to look for yet.

my door will basically swing from 0 degrees to 180 degrees.

what's the best way to automate the door movement between these two values? I'd prefer a loop so I can see it move and check different areas of the assembly while it moves.

most of the totorials I've stumbled across are for cams and followers or just to animate an assembly explode so not necessarily what I'm looking for.

thanks

you can use mechanism for this. See the attached basic model. Go to applications-mechanism, and play the attached Analysis. You can change angles and timing by editing the servo motor,
hope this helps
regards j

Attachments

• door.zip
    63.8 KB · Views: 14
you can use mechanism for this. See the attached basic model. Go to applications-mechanism, and play the attached Analysis. You can change angles and timing by editing the servo motor,
hope this helps
regards j

Thanks Jay. this helped a lot.