Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

volume analysis

sayboula

hi pro e users,

i am a mould designer and i am designing a bottle of water of 1 liter for the first time.so the problem is how i could know the exact dimension to draw ,that give me this precise volume.

is there a feature or a way that help me in solving this issue.

thanks in advance

reply please this is very important

This is possible with BMX or Behavioural modeling. At least that was so in the earlier versions. Since I am equipped with most modules, I would not know the difference.<br style="font-family: Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;">The procedure is thus....<br style="font-family: Arial,Helvetica,sans-serif;">
  1. Give a SHAPE to the bottle (Size can be approximate).
  2. Volume of water V = Volume of bottle before shelling (say Vol_1) - Volume after shelling(hollowing) say Vol_2.
  3. Perform a Volume analysis before shelling and Save it as a feature.
  4. Shell the bottle with face open from the top.
  5. Define TWO planes between which water shall be contained (considering there is going to be some empty space from the bottle top to the water level.
  6. Perform a volume analysis and save as a feature say Vol_2.
  7. Insert an analysis feature V = Vol_1 - Vol_2
  8. Perform an optimization analysis with a target of 1l by varying the desired dimensions.
Good Luck.

Model a part to an approximate size, then use pull down menu ANALYSIS, then MEASURE, then VOLUME. Adjust size as needed.

thanks a lot guys,SRINI and JERRYT
<DIV>SRINI all goes fine but how do i </DIV>

1. <LI>Insert an analysis feature V = Vol_1 - Vol_2
    <LI>Perform an optimization analysis with a target of 1l by varying the desired dimensions.</LI>

i should vary the dimensions manually is that correct? so that i got my desired volume.