Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Valve/ valve seat hard stop

SKmetal7

Hey guys, I need help figuring out how to define a valve/ valve seat assembly. I have the primary constraint as a cylinder, but I don't know how to make the valve stop against the valve seat. I've tried to make a cam connection, but it won't let me select the tapered surface. Maybe I'm going about this the wrong way...

valve.jpg

SKmetal7<br style="font-weight: normal;"><br style="font-weight: normal;">I am not an expert in this area at all, but I have done valves a couple of ways depending on the valve and sets angle. The easiest is to create a datum on each part that would represent the seated position. If the angles are the same the datums would be created through a point where the seat angle intersects the axis. Another method I have used is to extrude a cam like surface (depth doesn't matter) on each part by sketching on a sketch plane that passes through the axis of the parts. I use a silhouette edge of the valve or seat and add an arc at each end to make it more like a cam surface. Since these surfaces only curve in one plane they will work as a cam feature.

Hope this made some sense.

Bob

Ok, I'm trying to picture this in my head. Is the first method something like this? :

valve3.jpg

Then what kind of mechanism constraint would I use?

And is this the second method? :

valve2.jpg

It is a revolved curve, intead of a flat taper. I still won't let me select that surface for a cam. I would rather not do it that way since it doesn't represent the final valve that I will be making.

valvelinkage.jpg