Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Surface Modelling (Solidworks)

moseleys3

Hello All,

This is my first post so please go easy :)

Basically, Im trying to create a boundary surface between a sketch and a
projected curve, and an existing surface.

However, I get an error when I add the existing surface to the boundary
surface. I believe its because the project curve doesn't intersect or
coincide with the surface.

I am new with projected curves and I'm not entirely 100% on how to do
this. I understand its hard to get what I am on about so I've uploaded
some photos and added the Solidworks part.

Any information, google links, tutorials ect, I could possibly get to read
up on the problem would be greatly appreciated.

Solidworks Part
Screen Shot 1
Screen Shot 2
Screen Shot 3

Many Thanks,
Moseleys3
Edited by: moseleys3

the voice from outside - if I were You I would first focus on solving 3&5 sided patches. I do know SW is capable to make it automaticaly but in the surfacing buisness poeple struggle to do it manualy because of final quality.

Second thing are fillets. At the end there are the tools to make surfacing happen and thez are almost similar for any software which capable to handle surfacing - SW, SE, NX, Catia, Alias, etc. The differenace usually sticks in capability to create high degree curves, thus surfaces.

So, after this long prologue I advise You to visit my page and check available tutorials
smiley2.gif

http://proe-warsztat.com/en/tuts/tuts.php

Moseleys3,

Although jacek's tutorials are great, you're immediate challange has to do with SW workflow, and not high-level surfacing techniques - at least as far as getting this error fixed... (Building high quality surface models is a whole other story!
smiley2.gif
)