Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Solidworks to Pro/E question

SrGilberto

What is the best way to bring a Solidworks model into Pro/E?

We are expecting to get a model from a supplier but we may need to manipulate it. They use Solidworks. We use Pro/E.

Thank you for a speedy response,
SrGilberto

As good as all translations start out as dumb translations. They convert 3D information and that's it. After that it can go two ways. You have some kind of feature recognizer that tries to find protrusions, cuts, holes, etc... When they're found they can get parameters ans subsequently be changed. The other way is direct manipulation. You have a cilindric cutout in a solid, the software allows you to move the face which in turn modifies the solid.

I have no knowledge of either function in ProE. Some other CAD I know has some of these functionality.

Third party programs claim to be able to intelligently translate models, but I have never seen any example of results of this where I could indepently compare the original against the translation. Guess you don't know until you try.

So the final thing you are left with in plain ProE is to modify by hand. You can add material, cut away material, ... with the standard functions. You can create offset surfaces and replace the original with the offset. Guess that's about it.

Alex

SW can save a file as a native Pro/E file (SW is saving to Pro/E, while Pro/e is having trouble saving to Pro/E)
smiley36.gif

SrGilberto,

have them save the file as a neutral file, the option to save as a pro-e file actually generates this neutral file that can be opened by pro-e but has no detailed features.
if you have the latest pro-e then you can recognize some of the features with import, if I am not mistaken.

Jelston,