Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

General Guide lines for sheet metal design

tvr

Can any body give me general guide lines and quality that need to be followed during sheet metal modeling....

As in many CAD packages, you should first have an idea of a starting point for the design. I would then create an unattached flat wall (I'm new to Pro/E, this is how I would start). Use some basic parameters like material thickness, inside and outside bend radii, etc. At some point you need to make sure that it can actually be flattened and stamped on whatever machine will be doing this. If oyu're going to incorporate some special features like embosses or ribs or anything else, it might be a good idea to have some knowledge of what tools are in stock. One of the neat features that I have found in Pro/E is that I can model punches and dies and have them stored in a location that I can use later on other sheet metal pieces.

Hope this helps in getting started, I'm sure that there will be many responses from other more seasoned Pro/E users than me, but if you need more help, ask for it.

steve

You have left your question very open and it is difficult to corner exactly what you are asking.

I usually start out by creating a flat first and running bends off of the fundamental geometry.

The commands generally run like any other model creation command

feature, create, flat

feature ,create, bend,

feature create , cut... etc.

You have to either convert standard geometry to sheet metal or switch over to sheet metal from standard pro-e however.

It might be recommended that you run through a tutorial to get a feel for the commands. Not sure what is meant by quality but in general , whatever you model will accurately translate to a sheet metal station(punch press, turret punch, lazer punch)