Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Centerlines in assembly drawings

scottm

Sorry for probably a dumb question - I'm new to Pro-E and its drawing interface.

I've got a block with a hole through it as part of an assembly (it really is that simple). How do get a centerline in the assembly drawing?

I can see various ways to kludge one in, but I want to do it the right way. I've seen some mention of the absence of a centerline tool in drawing mode - but I'm assuming there must be a proper way to do it.

Any help is appreciated.

Scott

Go to the show/erase dialog box and show the axis in the views that you want. Once you figure out all the controlls you will find this a very useful tool for detailing drawings.

Perfect - I knew it would be something simple. I was messing around in Show/Erase but I didn't do it by view.

Thanks,

Scott

i am attempting to draw a centerline for a square cutout in a drawing. i've read a few other threads, and people have suggested drawing an offset datum axis in the 3d model, and then getting that datum axis to show on the drawing.

well, i can't get that to show up, and when i click the "show/erase" button and select the view, i get a "Views not updated - use 'Regen View'" message. i've tried regenerating the model, and i still get the error message.

seriously, ProE irritates the crap out of me. i learned 3d modeling on SolidWorks at Texas A&M, and now i'm having to teach myself proe wildfire since that's all NASA uses. and, being the government, they are too cheap to give me a mentor. well, that's my theory at lest. still, solidworks wasn't this hard to learn, and seemed to be easier to manipulate. ProE = NoE.

anyway, this drawing is going to be on stand-by until i can figure out how to get centerlines to show up.