Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Bolts - threads or dashes?

automaton2

I am an entry-level engineering student.
As I started learning PTC Pro Engineer 5, I ran into a problem. I asked a person with a major in drafting about this and he couldn't answer my question.

Do I need to draw threads on every bolt I am designing in Pro E? What is the easiest way to do this?

If not, than my hole for a bolt is geometrically narrower than the bolt so there is no way I can stick an unthreaded bolt in to a smooth bore without causing geometric interference glitches.

How would I solve this problem in Pro Engineer 5?

Thank you for your time.
V.T.

What youll find is that companies do it both ways. I have been at several companies doing design work, and some require you model all threads and some require you model some threads. Where I currently work, you only model non-standard treads and all standard threads are done as cosmetic. This goes out the window when you need a rapid protoype with the threads processed during the rapid prototyping and not as a secodnary operation.

If you have to model, you do a helical sweep (sorry if I am assuming you do not know this). The helical sweep will not always prevent interference check problems unless you constrain the bolt to all degrees of freedom so that the bolt thread start matches the hole thread start.

Jim

I know what helical sweep is. There is no better way to do threads in Pro E?

What if I accidentally start my internal and external helical sweeps at different angles...
Well...
My plans are for educational purposes so there is not going to be a finite element analysis performed.

Do I make smaller holes or narrower bolts to compensate for the threads?