Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

What is the PTC Creo 'Fill Surface' (SolidWorks feature) equivalent ?

78finn

I'm new to Creo, having used Solidworks for years now...But my new job requires that I use it.

I do a lot of surface work and have heard that PTC / Creo is the right choice for this type of work.

However, I cannot find a method for handling 3-Sided surfaces easily anywhere in Creo? Surely there has to be one? SolidWorks has a feature called 'Fill Surface' which handles 3-Sided surfaces easily and effortlessly and really speeds the model time up required for complex surfaces. Here is a link of it being used successfully and easily on You Tube:

SolidWorks Surfacing: Avoiding Degenerate Surfaces - SolidWorks Training by SolidWize - YouTube

So far I cant find the equivalent feature anywhere in Creo? If anyone can be of help with this, I would really appreciate it!

Cheers

Based on the video I'd say the STYLE feature environment is what you want to use.

Yes, I have been using a combination of conventional surface and style features to create surfaces etc. but the number of operations you have to use to end up with something not as good is very frustrating. The time difference to create the same surface in Creo VS SolidWorks is frightening! literally a few seconds in Solidworks and often hours of tweaking in Creo to get something similar. I really cant understand why people say that Creo has the edge over Solidworks in this department?

Ooops....my memory does not serve me well. Saw another thread which I was part of on PTC Community. I asked about this feature as an enhancement.

33. May 13, 2013 9:54 AM (in response to Brian Martin)
Re: Enhancement Requests for Creo - Summer 2013 TC Meetings
Fill Surface