Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

General reliability

mhejjas

First of all, I really don't want to offend anybody or anything, just want to know.
I have some experience with Proe back from '05, and as I remember I was OK with it.
I've a degree in electric engineering, and worked in IT/Telecom for the last 15 years. I usually understand new things fast, and have a natural sense for mechanical engineering. I'm racing with radio controlled cars for 12 years now, and designed a couple of racing option parts for them.
I had no further CAD experience until a couple of month ago I started to use Solidworks 2013.
I've learned a lot and created quite complex structures, but the most of the time I was struggling with SW to make it work, or trying to understand why it didn't do what I expected.
Now I know, that a lot of things simply don't work in SW. (e.g. solid sweep on a 3d path, creating complex sketches is a nightmare, etc.)
What I don't understand, that it should be a professional system, yet I haven't found anything yet remotely as unreliable and nondeterministic and counterproductive like SW (except maybe Mac OS X, but that's another story)
It's possible that the problem is with me, since I've read a lot positive opinions about SW, but my problems are real.

The question is whether all complex CAD systems behave like SW, or there are a bit more exact ones out there?

Thanks for reading,

in addition: 95% of the time I create relatively complex, machined alloy parts (no plastic mold, no metal sheet)

Last edited:
Maybe not enough experience yet.