Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Curtain walls profiles intersection

tyrnokop

Hi guys,
I'm a construction engineer in "Curtain Walls" sector. Till now i made my calculations and drafts in Autocad. After discovering SolidWorks software i was very interested and started selfeducation. I'm totally new in SW sphere, but totally inspired also. I made many readings including SW 2011 parts bible, i watched a lot of youtube movies, but my experience is quite far from the perfect.
I'm asking you for help about the following:
My current project is winter garden (green house). I need to make the intersection between two aluminium profiles (one for the roof and one for the facade) and remove the unwanted material. How can i do this without preliminary calculation of the cut angle. I'm posting you 4 images to make the
problem more understandable.
http://mediteh96.com/winterGarden/

If you are interested there is also a big archive with pictures and a movie from my previous project.

Thanks in advance for your cooperation.

Edited by: tyrnokop

Hope this will help you:

2011-12-23_050908_Roof_Wall.zip

It is done in '2007.
If I remember well, starting with SW 2009, you can accomplish the same task working at assembly level.
When you make a cut at assembly level you will see a window that allow you to select the parts that will be cutting (and that will be reflected at the part level).
See also your SW help.

Good luck !

Hi Mihail,