Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Modeling from 3-View

BenOggo

Dear Community Members

I am a noob to SolidWorks and even to CAD overall. However I have searched the Forum before posting and I have asked the person that recommended SolidWorks for my purpose before posting. I know my way around very basic functions of SolidWorks.

I would like to model an airplane from scale plans. For many aircrafts so called 3-views exist where you can see the plane from top, front and side. Now lets assume It's like to model the plane as one part and later separate. What I would like to do is to define three planes (later more for other sections) that I can texture with the plans. This would already give me a kind of grid image and some defined points of the part. A fried of mine showed me that in 3DSmax. Now, I dounderstand that normally it is done the other way around in CAD, meaning that the plans are generated from the modeled parts. In my case the plans are old (1930ies) and I would like to construct the plane according to scale plans.

What I have found out is that I could define very very thin parts instead of just a plane and then give them theaircraft plansas textures. But seriously, if I start like that I will neverget the hang of it.When I try to texture just a plane I don't see anything (this also makes sense as nothing can have no texture). But there must be some kind of helpful function to do this?

Is is there any tutorial that you can recommend that show drawing 3d parts from 2d plans? How can the things described above be accomplished? I am grateful for any related information. Thanks for reading.

Once these three projections are hung up and centered over the origin sketching becomes much easier. (airplane example)

BenOggo
Edited by: BenOggo