Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Importing Wing Sect Pics for Sketching

tdekon

I am a Pro/E newbie working on drawing an existing race car wing for analysis in CFD. I havea pdf file picture (no geometry) of the profile that I want to import into a sketch and then sketch over it. Any suggestions of how to go about this?

Thanks,

Terry

I suggest placing it into your model using Pro/ENGINEER ISDX.... scale it appropriately then build your geometry from that as you would build any arrow dynamic geometry.

Bart,

Sorry, but I only made it through most of the Tickoo Wildfire 4.0 for Designers book and do not know what ISDX is (well, I looked it up, but still don't really know). I just want to put the scanned drawing(now in .jpg format) in a sketch with my rough wing profile overlayed (from a spline) and tweak the spline to match the .jpg. I know this can be done in CATIA V5 and was hoping to be able to do it in Pro/E.

BTW, I saw some of your YouTube dyno pulls and thinkour race car may be able to top your power output by a little.
smiley4.gif

Thanks again,

Terry

James,

That worked and I now have the picture in Pro/E and have sketched the wing profile over it. Thank you very much.
smiley32.gif

Terry

tdekon said:
BTW, I saw some of your YouTube dyno pulls and thinkour race car may be able to top your power output by a little.
smiley4.gif

sounds cool!! post some info and pics!!
smiley4.gif

//Tobias

Hi tdekon,

Looks like you're facing a very easy problem to AutoCad, instead of Proe, to me is much easy to handle the picture as a raster image inside autocad, cause you can rotate, scale, etc, then trace the spline, and at last insert the curves you have to ProE, to build the surfaces you need to CFD.