Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Shrinkwrap options

bobmann

I've got a quick question about Shrinkwraps. I've never used them before, but I think they're just what I need here. I want to make a simplified model of a somewhat-complex assembly to supply to our customers as a 3D model. Until now, I've been using Simplified Reps to do this, and it's worked okay. But it turns out that the file size of the .stp or .sat files that I'm exporting are still too big, and it's becomingannoyingto keep simplifying and simplifying the assembly. So maybe a Shrinkwrap is the way to go.

However, the problem is that there are certain holes that we NEED to show in these models. It seems as though Shrinkwrap will allow me to either remove all holes or remove no holes. Is there a way for me to remove the 98% of the holes that I don't need, while choosing the 2% or so that I do need?

I'm using WF 3.0 (M090). Thanks for any help...

Have you played with all the setting in shrinkwrap? It sounds like your on the right track, as there as various options to fill holes and set quality levels. Trial and error might be your best betusing shrinkwrap.