Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

HW recommendation for Pro-E WF 2.0?

aland

Hi all,
I'm a PC Tech tasked with building a workstation that runs Peo-E Wildfire 2.0.
I've searched at PTC site for infos on certified components and did not see anything regarding MB or CPU hardwares. I need to build a box on the cheap side with off-the-shelf parts as quickly as possible. Can anyone help and point me to some resources of haradwares that Pro-E will be happy with? I'm leaning toward an Intel MB/CPU combo. Budget including the monitor is about $2700.
Your time and help are much appreciated. Thanks.

Graphics card 128 MB

Ram 1GB

Speed 3.0 GHz

HDD 80 GB

you can get HP XW8000, I use it personally

Israr

Some major PC companies work closely wth PTC to build machines
certified to run Pro/E and they can probably build a machine for less
than you think as their purchasing power is so great. Also if you have
a hardware problem on a certified platform you will get far more
support from PTC to resolve the issue than if the platform is
un-certified.

For a example, you can check out Dell's Pro/E offerings at

http://tinyurl.com/hjypa

and don't forget to check out PTC's certifications for Dell at

http://tinyurl.com/otmk9

My advice is save yourself some headaches and purchase a certified machine.

DB

Dell_Boy said:
Some major PC companies work closely wth PTC to build machines
certified to run Pro/E and they can probably build a machine for less
than you think as their purchasing power is so great. Also if you have
a hardware problem on a certified platform you will get far more
support from PTC to resolve the issue than if the platform is
un-certified.

Thanks,

That's a solid advise. We're a Dell's shop - All of the Engineering's