Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Moving from Wildfire to NX4

acciardi

Hello all - I'm a longtime Pro/E user who will be transitioning to NX4 due to my company being bought by a larger outfit. I have NX4 installed and running, and I'm looking for some insights on how to best start part/assy models.

In Pro/E, datum planes are the starting point of every model. As the model progresses, it is good practice to always reference the three primary datums while placing features. NX doesn't seem to require this - you can sketch on the WCS plans.

In general, can someone please summarize what is considered best practice for build models in NX?

Also, I notice that sketches do not seem to get sucked into the model. The sketch outline is always visible.

Any pointers to best practices or tutorials appreciated. Note - I have not had formal training yet, but I want to get a jump on things.

Thanks and best regards.

Ed Acciardi, Seagate corp