Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Large assembly huff and puff

swartz77

Greetings. This is my first post here, and I'm also new to the drafting world in general (just finished school). Anyway, we have some rather large assemblies here where I work, most comprised of sub assemblies. In order to rotate the model we have to turn off the edges and just use the shaded model or it bogs down something fierce. Not to mention the 2 minute (no kidding here) save time. I'm running SW2009 64bit, no service pack on a Dell Precision T5400 with Quadcore 2.0ghz and Nvidia Quadro FX3700 graphics card, oh, and XP 64 bit. I was thinking there's enough computing power there, so maybe some tweaks can be made to smooth/speed things up. Most of the sub assemblies were done on older versions of SW, could that have anything to do with the lag? Thanks for any help.

For SW 2009 (64-bit), you should upgrade to the latest service pack, which is currently SP 4.1. I assume you have a least 4GB RAM, if not then add more RAM.

For SW 2009, sub-assemblies come into the main assembly as lightweight. This should be less demanding on your hardware resources. However, you may want to try the new SpeedPak option as discussed in this link: https://forum.solidworks.com/message/86838#86838

Thanks. There is 8GB in the computer, so that should be enough (I'd want more, especially using 64bit, why not). I think the sub's are already lightweight, but I'll have to check it out. I'm hesitant to install anything on this computer, being it's the biggest machine in the company, and I've never updated SW before. The person I replaced used to take care of these things, and I don't want to mess up the computer. I am still the FNG after all.