Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro user wanting to learn Solidworks

plectrum_user1

I have been using Pro for 5 or 6 years. I may be coming into a job soon that uses only Solidworks. What kind of learning curve should I expect? Also, does anyone know of a student version or short-term license for Solidworks that I could download?<?:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:eek:ffice:eek:ffice" />

Thanks,
Phil

The learning curve is fairly shallow since both have similar modeling input functions.

In fact the creation of detail drawings is even easier in SolidWorks than in ProE. The same goes for family tables vs design tables; configurations.

However, ProE does have some features and functions, though present in SW, that are more rubust in ProE; especially in Wildfire.

Yes there is a Student version. Check with a SW var for details.

EWD

Hi

I am not sureif the newest version of Soldiworks has this but there is a Personal Edition of the software you can sign up for. I think you can get it through a SW reseller or on the Solidworks site (www.solidworks.com). Search for the 3D skills program at the Solidworks website and I think you can register for the Personal edition there or get in contact with a reseller who can get you one. Hope this helps.

Here is a quick link of the registration page: https://swcustomer.solidworks.com/3Dskills/register.aspx

I guess in reading intothe site you need to attend one of the seminars for the personal edition that info is on the site.

I know the Student Version used to be only available to students and you had to prove that you are registered for Solidworks Classes but that might have changed since I bought mine a couple of years ago.

Good luck