Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

The use of Skeleton Models

78finn

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to Pro E when it comes to advanced assemblys etc...and have started a new job where I am working on models/assemblies that often exseed 50 parts etc.

So far I'm getting away with simple refeernecing etc, but I have heard the use of "Skeleton" models is a key feature for many a Pro Engineer user!?

I'm very new to this area, so I was wondering if anyone had any good rescourse for this area - tutorials, good web sites etc that could introduce me to the the theries and process in vovled with this type of assembly/refferencing set up.

Any help you could be would be very much appreciated.

Cheers then,

Michael

There's a pretty good basic tutorial on skeleton usage on the ptc.com knowledge base using a chair. Search for 'chair top down design' or 'chair skeleton' and you should find it.

Main advantage of skeleton is when you have really large assemblies (100 parts is not large ...) and/or you work with different people on one project.

Reasonable sized assemblies can be easily managed by making a smart use of subassemblies, in fact making a virtual product instead of one big container of parts.

The Main advantage of investing the time up front and using skeletons is that you will totally avoid circular reference errors, because what the skeleton is is a central database of references for the assembly.

Down the road, when you want to make some major changes, you will spend much less time ( ideally no time) fixing references.

I believe that this process is unique to Pro-E.

I use skeletons on every assembly I build, 2 parts to hundreds. The advantages are managing design intent and references.