Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Unconstrained error

barnlogic

Hey,

I have been using Pro and Mechanica for about 15 years and I have never had this error occur. It says that the model is not constrained, but I know that it is. Is there a bug in the M230 version of WF3.0? This is what mechanica spits out:

The model is insufficiently constrained for the analysis.
Please review the element connections, properties, and
constraints.

You may be able to locate your model's problem area by
using Mechanica database ID numbers. ID numbers can be
queried using the "Entity ID" macro in Pro/MECHANICA
Standalone. The following ID numbers are associated
with this error:

The unconstrained degree of freedom can be seen by running
a constrained Modal Analysis with rigid mode search.
Animating the rigid modes will display the unconstrained
degrees of freedom. If the error still occurs, then the
issue could be caused by material properties or unattached
spring/mass idealizations.

But I KNOW that the model is constrianed, it is a test case that I made to test the error. It is a simple cantilevered beam, with a simple loading. I have run it a million times and I have never gotten this error.

Suggestions?

Thanks!

I agree with indigo2.

In WF3, Mechanica uses the Pro/E material database, whereas in previous releases it had a separate database. This is basically a good idea, but the problem is that when people set up a material in Pro/E, they are really only interested in density and don't enter the Youngs Modulus and Poissons Ratio. Hence many companies have a Pro/E material library which contains materials with no E and Poissons ratio.