Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Trying to model forearm bones (HELP!!!)

saqademus

Hi everyone, first time poster here. I'm in my final year of Mech Eng at Imperial University and using Pro E for my dissertation. I have to model the twist of the two bones that make up the forearm (radius and ulna) and am having some serious difficulties doing so.

I'm keeping it simple and just using two cylinders to represent the bones, but its the twist motion that I'm not sure how to model.

The radius at the elbow just simply spins, but at the wrist end it orbits around the ulna.

Is this possible?

I've attached a diagram to help explain what I mean.

25rnk2d.jpg

Any help would be greatly appreciated guys!

I think you are talking about mechanism connections with limits, yes that's possible. can you describe how many parts you have, how they are connected and how much they move, the solution is fairly straightforward.

well its the mechanism of the motion thats most important. so 3 pieces. 2 cylinders representing each the radius and the ulna, and a sphere for the elbow.

saqademus,

It's often about how the problem is described, help us to help you. Sketch the parts AND show the limits to the movement.

sorry I'm not sure how to show the limits?

The motion is 180 degrees (ie palms outwards to palms inwards) so I guess both radius and ulna will be able to rotate 180 degrees both ways. The wrist also (makeshift wrist). But the elbow will not move.

the radius part will spin on its central axis at the elbow joint (as it does in ones arm) but the whole wrist will translate 180 degrees.

I hope that helps