Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

"Replace Face"? (as in Solid Edge)

Roland J

Hi

I'm new to Pro E. I've been using Sold Edge in recent years.

There doesn't appear to be a "replace Face" command(?). Can anyone point me in the right direction. This was an invaluable tool in SE... it's hard to believe there is not an equivalant in Pro E

Thanks in advance

Roland (using Wildfire 5)

what does "replace face" do???

Could it be that you want to replace a solid surface with another?

If so, use : Edit- Offset - replace surface feature.

//Tobias

yes,as tobbo has replied, replace face is embede inside offset feature, and its available only if you preselect the face you want to replace. its more powerfull than other CAD programs i've seen. for example you can choose a datum plane as a replacement surface, which is not possible in solidworks and perhaps solidedge.
View attachment 5069

Edited by: solidworm

Guys

Edit >Offset is greyed out on my menu (?)

I'm working on solid PRT objects... does this only work with surfaces perhaps?

thanks again in advance

Roland

well, as i said,you have to preselect the face you want to replace.then offset will be enabled.

Edited by: solidworm

it will be greyed out until you preselect the surface, filter to geometry to pick the surface

My cursor will only highlight 'features'. I have 'highlight geometry' ticked in the 'show' drop-down' (above the model tree). I can't seem topre-select an individual solid surface

I'mclearly missing something obvious here
smiley5.gif

...or higlight the surf by clicking on it, move away with your cursor...move back to the surf and click again. Then it should be "pink" as in Kenppy.s pic.

(or change the selection filter)

That should give you the possibility to use "offset" command.

//Tobias

Hi Roland -