Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Pro/Mechanica AutoGen

fabiogeraci

Hello everybody,

I am new at Pro/Mechanica, and i am performing lot of FEA for the company i am working at the moment, in the past i have used Abaqus andPatran/nastran.

Is any way that I can control the dimension of the elements in autogen? how do i fix the shape of the elements that i want to use?

I am using Pro/E wildfire 2 for modelling, and pro/mechanica for FEA.

Thanks

Not having used Patran..etc I'm not positive but with linked Mechanica I don't think AutoGEM gives you the level of control you want.

Here is what you can do - AutoGEM/Settings/Setting Tab, here you can define the element types you want it to use globally (Quad, Tri for shell, Brick Wedge, Tetra for Solids). But this is a global setting.

I don't think you can control the actualdimensions of the elements but withinAutoGEM/Setting/Limits Tab you can widen/narrow the max allowable angles, widening the range reduces the element count and vice versa.

The other thing you can do if you want a finer mesh only in a particular area is to use datum curves to force AutoGEM to create a finer mesh in an appropriate area. You have to select the option AutoGEM/Use Datum Curves.

Hope this helps

Thanks for the reply.

tried those option already, but the mesh is still not up to the standars that i was used with the other FEA software.

If i could import the part in, let say, patran and mesh it with patran,
would i be able to import it back to mechanica. I have tried to export
part to abaqus and they come up pretty bad.

Thanks