Continue to Site

Welcome to MCAD Central

Join our MCAD Central community forums, the largest resource for MCAD (Mechanical Computer-Aided Design) professionals, including files, forums, jobs, articles, calendar, and more.

Lack of Constraints for Pin Connections

dtsmith

Hello all,

I am relatively new to pro and even newer to mechanism design. I have been having trouble with pin connections. When inserting a component, the Pin connection constraint automatically allows for Axis alignment and translation constraints. However, it sometimes wont allow me to insert a Rotation axis reference.This is crucial because the component will not become "fully placed" untill I have this reference, andeven if it would, I need to specifythe orientaion.

Ican get the component to place with the use of a rigid connection, but that wont help me in mechanism mode.

Ihave attached the picture of the assembly that I am creating.The yellow pieces are connected by a shaft and rotate around. The spring assembly in blue and grey are what I amtrying to assemble to the main assembly. (note that thehelix, and blue parts are a sub assembly) I have placed them using rigid connectionjust to show what I am trying to accomplish. Eventually I hope to make the yellow pieces rotate with the sprng stretching and contracting along with them.

I hope all this makes sense. Any help would be MUCHLY appreciated!!!!

View attachment 2829

Just an update. I think I figured out my problem. I was trying to assemble my spriing so that it would pivot on an already assembled bolt. The catch is that I need to fix the bolt (ie not have the bolt as a pin connection) If I "fix" my bolt, then it allows for rotation axis contstraints, and the component can be "fully placed". I hope this makes sense and if anyone else has this problem then send me a message and I'll try and explain better.